Questions buyers actually ask
Who is behind SonoSuite, and who is behind LabelGrid?
SonoSuite’s Legal Notice names the operator as “SONOSUITE, S.L.”, tax ID (CIF) B17943986, at Trafalgar 10, pral 1, 08010 Barcelona, Spain, registered in the Commercial Registry of Barcelona. Their About page says “Though we call Barcelona home, we fully support a hybrid model”, with team members in Los Angeles, Paris, Lima and Mumbai. LabelGrid is headquartered in Denver, Colorado, and has been building since 2017. One difference in what you can read up front is worth knowing: SonoSuite’s customer contract is accepted inside the product, their Support Center stating that “creating an account in the platform implies accepting the contract stipulations” and that it is always available in My Account > Contract. LabelGrid’s Terms of Service are published on labelgrid.com, and the commercial terms of a plan at this level are settled in a signed contract here too.
Can an artist use SonoSuite?
SonoSuite says not, and they are direct about it. Their FAQ answers “I’m an artist, can I use SonoSuite?” with “SonoSuite is a white-label SaaS platform not aimed at artists but music businesses” and points artists towards finding a distributor or aggregator instead. Their Support Center describes the product as “a white-label digital music distribution platform” for “any business or organization offering any kind of services to artists”. To open an account their FAQ says you need to be a music business and to provide “official documentation such as a tax number (like a VAT or GTS number), or an active bank account registered under the company name”. LabelGrid sells self-serve distribution plans to labels and artists alongside Imprint and Engine, although a business account is a conversation here too: API and third-party distribution go through onboarding screening and KYC/KYB.
Does SonoSuite publish pricing, and is LabelGrid cheaper?
SonoSuite prices on enquiry. Their FAQ answers “How much does SonoSuite cost?” with an offer “tailored to your catalog size, team structure, and specific objectives” and an invitation to “consult with one of our knowledgeable experts”. Their own documents describe the shape of the bill: a monthly base fee, a “small activation fee gets charged once” at setup, and two support levels each “billed as a percentage of your monthly base fee”. None of those three amounts appears in their 13 distinct captured pages, read 23 September 2026, so nobody can answer the cheaper question without a quote from both. What LabelGrid publishes is every distribution plan and every API tier, including the Custom Distribution and API starting prices. Imprint, the product that matches theirs, is scoped at onboarding rather than published, so on that one comparison neither of us has a price for you to read.
What are SonoSuite’s plans called, and what is gated by tier?
Their Support Center names Silver, Gold and Platinum, and gates two capabilities by tier: running the platform under your own website domain is “available for Silver, Gold and Platinum plans”, and managing digital assets and metadata with bulk upload is “available for Gold and Platinum plans”. Their homepage package block separately lists bulk upload among what is included, so the two documents differ in scope and we are quoting each rather than reconciling them for you. No price is attached to any of the three names anywhere in their 13 distinct captured pages, read 23 September 2026. On the LabelGrid side, Imprint gives the customer’s own brand on their own domain with every end customer in its own workspace; how Imprint itself is tiered is settled in the onboarding scope rather than documented publicly, so we are not going to claim a contrast we cannot show you.
What does each company keep on a sale?
SonoSuite’s Support Center states that “stores like iTunes, Amazon and others keep 30% off of a sale. SonoSuite gets 70% of a sale (this is called the wholesale price) and shares 100% of this amount with the client.” That answer is about download sales; the same article calls streaming “a proportionate share worked out differently for every store” and gives no figure. A LabelGrid customer keeps 85% on Solo and Basic, 90% on Pro, and on Custom Distribution and every API tier keeps 95% of standard-DSP royalties earned through LabelGrid’s own deals and 100% of what they earn on their own deals. On downloads their client keeps more than ours does, and their revenue comes from the platform fee instead, which is the same shape as our flat yearly tiers. Both companies then wait on the stores: their Support Center notes that “the sales are confirmed by the DSPs with approximately a 90-day delay”, which is the reporting chain rather than anyone’s choice.
How does SonoSuite handle paying your end users?
Their Support Center is precise about it. “All payments to end users must be managed out of the platform”: the platform records the payout request and the admin marks it paid, because “the action of paying End Users has to be managed by the admin outside of the platform, via your bank account, PayPal account, or any alternative payment method you may use.” An end user can request a payout once their balance passes a threshold the client sets in Setup > Contract and pricing, and a client can set user-specific prices, which they note are set per account and not per release. To be paid yourself, “you should provide an invoice for the amount so SonoSuite can pay you”, with invoices sent before the 15th paid on the 30th of the following month. We are describing their architecture rather than contrasting it: what Imprint does with a reseller’s end-customer payouts is not documented on our public surfaces, and we are not going to assert it here.
Is release review included, or is it an extra?
Both companies review manually. SonoSuite’s FAQ states “Our Quality Control experts check and approve all content you or your clients upload on the platform, from audio and album art to metadata”, and every LabelGrid release on a distribution plan is manually reviewed for quality, metadata and rights before delivery, at no extra cost, unless the account distributes only through its own direct deals. The evidenced difference is in what a failure produces. Their welcome article says the release “will be rejected if you have Standard Support and you will be contacted by the QC team if you have Premium Support”, and their support levels are the ones “billed as a percentage of your monthly base fee”. That is a statement about where a rejection conversation sits in their packaging, not about the quality of anyone’s review.
Where does each platform deliver, and what about YouTube Content ID?
Both deliver to all major DSPs, which is their phrase as well as ours. Their Support Center lists named services including Anghami and MusixMatch and says “Activate the channels that you need and when you need them, according to the pricing plan that best fits you”. Their Content ID page describes distributing to all major DSPs “including YouTube Content ID”, their Features page carries user-generated content and rights management, and their guides note that some channels need authorisation first: “To request authorization for your artists to distribute to specific DSPs (such as Beatport and YouTube Content ID), now you’ll need to gather all the required information beforehand.” LabelGrid delivers to all major DSPs, download stores and social apps, among them Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon Music, YouTube Music, TIDAL, Deezer, SoundCloud, TikTok and Beatport, with regional services such as Anghami, Boomplay and JioSaavn. YouTube Content ID registration is available on all LabelGrid distribution plans, with Content ID and UGC revenue earned through LabelGrid’s deals split 80% to the artist and a 20% fee, and eligibility needs original content you fully own or control. Their Content ID and UGC rates are not stated in their captured pages, so there is no rate comparison to make.
How do end-customer accounts work inside each platform?
SonoSuite’s guides describe an admin-centred model. Opening an end user’s content prompts “a modal requiring your confirmation to impersonate the end-user before proceeding”, which they explain keeps changes linked to the release owner. After delivery, “end-users cannot perform takedowns or re-deliveries; these actions will be managed exclusively by the Admin”. An end-user account can be removed only “if no content has been sent to delivery previously”. Support stays between the two businesses: “You are the one responsible for contacting your end-users, who might never be in copy. Otherwise, the white label solution doesn’t work.” Their release-date guidance recommends “a minimum of 14 days in advance”, changeable to seven. In the LabelGrid portal each end customer is a full workspace with its own logins and the same capability as every other, composed by the reseller rather than inherited down a tree, and an artist who wants their own label can sign up on your domain. Both designs protect the reseller’s brand; they put the controls in different places.
Which DDEX versions and identifiers does each support, and is there an API?
SonoSuite’s Features page carries a DDEX Integration section covering metadata integration and data ingestion, and an “Automated UPC & ISRC Generation” section that lets a client “automatically assign or use your own UPC and ISRC codes”; their Support Center adds that for record labels “UPC / ISRC codes are generated automatically by our technology”. Their own blog states that they upgraded their Spotify distribution feeds to DDEX ERN 4.3; which ERN versions their ingest accepts is not stated on any of their 13 distinct captured pages, read 23 September 2026, so that part is not something we can tell you. LabelGrid supports ERN 3.8.2, 4.3.0, 4.3.1 and 4.3.2, which is a support statement rather than a DDEX membership, for delivery on every plan; DDEX ERN import is available on the API plans and on Custom Distribution after a conversation with support and technical onboarding, and carries a one-time setup fee. ISRCs and UPCs are included at no extra cost and stay with the customer. On the API, their homepage package lists “API” and their Distributors page invites clients to “automate workflows with our Distribution API”, while their 13 distinct captured pages do not include API documentation. LabelGrid’s REST documentation is public and the sandbox opens once an API plan is active.